Adelaide United v Brisbane Roar FC / League – Hyundai Australian A League

Date – Sunday, 19 March 2017

Venue – Coopers Stadium, Adelaide, Australia

Time – Kick-Off: 16:30PM (Local) (5:00PM (AEDT)


Both teams were involved in the ACL this week, with Roar losing 3-0 away to Kashima Antlers on Tuesday night and the Reds completing a thrilling 3-3 draw with Jeju United at home 24 hours later.


How Brisbane handles the trip back from Japan and onwards to South Australia could decide this match.

Promisingly for coach John Aloisi, Roar have yet to lose in the A-League after their two previous trips in Asia this year, notching a draw and a win. Aloisi’s men will be aiming to leapfrog Melbourne City into third in the table if the latter fail to beat Newcastle Jets on Saturday night.


Brisbane (33 points) trail City on goal difference with five rounds remaining before the A-League finals.

Adelaide’s domestic form has been dreadful in 2016/17 – they have won just three games in their defence of the premiership-championship double – and few will expect the Reds to triumph at Coopers Stadium on Sunday.


In their favor, however, is a decent recent record against Brisbane – Adelaide have only lost once in their past four meetings with Roar, although that came in the most recent fixture in December when Aloisi’s side triumphed 4-0.

In the first clash of the season between these teams, Adelaide came from behind to draw 1-1 at home.


Adelaide coach Guillermo Amor has named an unchanged squad to the one that took on Jeju this week.

Thomas Broich drops out of Roar’s squad with an ankle injury, while Thomas Kristensen is added to the group that were involved against Kashima.

Brisbane will look to continue their improving form away from home in the A-League as they haven’t lost in four road trips.


In fact, Roar have lost just two of their past 11 domestic fixtures outside Suncorp Stadium.

Brisbane have won only one of their last four games against Adelaide (D1, L2), though that victory came in a 4-0 rout of the Reds in their last encounter.


Adelaide have lost only one of their last 13 Sunday games played on home soil, falling to the Mariners in November 2016.

Brisbane Roar are undefeated in their last four games away from home (W2, D2), with both of those wins in that span coming after not leading at the break (level once, behind once).


Adelaide United have won 52.4% of duels contested so far this season, the second-most of any team in the competition behind Perth Glory (53.3%).

Roar have yet to score in three games in Group E in the ACL, with Muangthong United, Ulsan and Kashima highlighting Brisbane’s weakness this season.


Of the A-League’s top-six clubs, only Western Sydney Wanderers (24 goals) have scored fewer than Brisbane’s 31 goals in 2016/17.

With Jamie Maclaren (13 goals) having scored over 40 per cent of Roar’s goals this term, Aloisi’s side are more than a little one-dimensional up front.

Adelaide’s three goals against Jeju were uncharacteristic of Amor’s men – the Reds have only scored multiple goals in two of their previous 25 games in all competitions this season.


Baba Diawara and Sergio Cirio opened their respective accounts on Wednesday night, while youngster Mark Ochieng produced the equaliser to strengthen his status as a fan favourite in Adelaide.


Eugene Galekovic. Adelaide’s captain was quoted in the Adelaide Advertiser this week indicating he may leave the Reds at the end of the season as the South Australian club is reportedly on the verge of signing Paul Izzo from Central Coast Mariners.


FORM LINES (last five league games)

Adelaide United: LLWLD

Brisbane Roar: DDDLW



Adelaide United 1-1 Brisbane Roar



Adelaide United squad:

1.Eugene GALEKOVIC (gk) (c),

4.Dylan McGOWAN,

5.Taylor REGAN,

7.Jae-sung KIM,


11.Sergio CIRIO,

12.Mark OCHIENG,

13.Marc MARINO,

14.George MELLS,



17.Nikola MILEUSNIC,

18.Riley McGREE,


21.Tarek ELRICH,

24.Jordan O’DOHERTY,

30.Daniel MARGUSH (gk),



**two to be omitted**



1.Eugene GALEKOVIC (gk) (returns from injury),

13.Marc MARINO (promoted),

14.George MELLS (promoted),

15.Ben WARLAND (promoted),

17.Nikola MILEUSNIC (promoted)



2.Michael MARRONE (not selected),

10.Marcelo CARRUSCA (not selected),

20.John HALL (gk) (not selected)



3.Iacopo LA ROCCA (hip – 3 weeks),

8.Isaìas (knee – indefinite),

22.Ryan KITTO (hamstring – 2 weeks),

23.Jordan ELSEY (knee – season)


Brisbane Roar FC squad:

1.Michael THEO (gk),

5.Corey BROWN,



8.Jacob PEPPER,


10.Brett HOLMAN,

13.Jade NORTH,

15. ARANA,

17.Matt MCKAY (c),

19.Jack HINGERT,

20.Shannon BRADY,

21.Jamie YOUNG (gk),

25.Kye ROWLES,


28.Brandon BORRELLO,


46.Cameron CRESTANI


**two to be omitted**



7.Thomas KRISTENSEN (promoted),

20.Shannon BRADY (promoted),

25.Kye ROWLES (promoted),

28.Brandon BORRELLO (promoted)



11.Tommy OAR (hamstring – 3 weeks),

22.Thomas Broich (ankle – 1 week)



3.Luke DEVERE (calf – 1-2 weeks),

4.Daniel BOWLES (knee – season),

24.Connor O’TOOLE (ankle – 3 weeks)


Prediction 1-2




Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.